MINNESOTA DWI BAIL BONDS
Defendants who are charged with driving under the influence are often given the option of being placed on an alcohol-monitoring device, in lieu of posting bail, to secure their release from custody. Sometimes, the court orders the monitoring device without input from the defendant.
The Law is Clear
The law is clear that if a defendant wishes to discontinue the monitoring device, Goldberg Bail Bonds can work with the defendant to post a bond.
Discontinuing the Monitoring Device
There may be several reasons why a defendant would want to, or even need to discontinue the monitoring device. A defendant may find that the cost of the program is prohibitive. The initial rental cost of the monitoring device varies by county- and can range from $140 to $214! In addition, there is a daily fee of $10 to $15, for the 4 to 6 months it takes to complete the court case. This could cost you $1300 to $2900! Additional expenses may be incurred with the requirement of having a telephone land line as well.
Concentrated Monitoring Schedule Conflicts
Another reason that you may need to post bond is that you may find that the concentrated monitoring schedule conflicts with your employment. Finally, some defendants feel that the monitoring device is unjust, because it equates to serving a sentence before a conviction of the charge.
Monitoring Program Doesn’t Fit Your Lifestyle
On a gross-misdemeanor, even if you initially agreed to the monitoring program but find that it doesn’t fit with your lifestyle, we can still relieve you of this burden through a court order. In Minnesota, you are entitled to post $12,000 for unconditional bail. If you have an attorney, we can work with them by going to see a judge in your county and have them agree to the order.
WHAT IS A MINNESOTA DWI?
According to the State Legislature it is illegal to drive, operate, or be in control of any motor vehicle while you are under the influence of alcohol, a controlled substance or a hazardous substance. You will be charged with a DWI in Minnesota by having an alcohol concentration of .08, having any amount of metabolites or controlled substance in the body driving a commercial vehicle, than you can’t have an alcohol concentration of .04 or more. A Minnesota DWI can also be charged when you refuse to submit to a test.
WHAT HAPPENS WHEN I’M CHARGED?
Typically, you have the choice of being released from jail upon the posting of bail or the agreement to comply with conditions of release. Those conditions could include alcohol sensor, random urinalysis and meeting with a pre-trail release agent.